Dolomites ... a UNESCO World Heritage Site


Unique destination

The 26th June 2009 in the mountains of the Sciliar is deeply impressed in the local memory. This is when the Dolomites received recognition as a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site, deemed worthy of special protection.

And not without good reason: with the indigenous flora and fauna inhabiting this unique biotope, the cultural, geological and visual landscape of the Dolomites cannot be compared to any other mountains on earth.


The Dolomites World Heritage Site is divided into 9 sections spread across 5 provinces and 3 regions of Italy:

  • Sciliar-Catenaccio, Latemar
  • Marmolada
  • Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano, Bellunese Dolomites and Vette Feltrine
  • Friuli Dolomites and Dolomiti d'Oltre Piave
  • Northern Dolomites
  • Puez-Odle
  • Rio delle Foglie
  • Dolomiti di Brenta
  • Pelmo-Croda da Lago

Spanning about 142,00 hectares in total, there are a further 90,000 hectares that serve as a buffer zone. Even prior to 2009, these areas were already designated as protected national parks or nature reserves, and Natura 2000 sites.

Fauna & Flora

The majestic white rock Dolomite formations provide a habitat to over 2,400 indigenous plant species.

Numerous animal species that have been depopulated elsewhere, continue to thrive in such nature parks and natural reserves.